ThAnCS

Third Party Anti-Collision System


Objective

Development of a new safety-oriented excavator anti-collision system to avoid third-party incidents on the critical gas infrastructure.

THANCS is going to be a combination of navigation and detection systems of the latest generation.

Approach (excerpt)

  • Development of an innovative alarm system for excavators
  • Technical protection measures (real-time anti-collision system)
Approach (excerpt):
  • Development of an innovative alarm system for excavators
  • Technical protection measures (real-time anti-collision system)

 
Pipeline systems can be located online with today’s precise data. However, the soil covering is usually not exactly known and changes with wind, weather and soil tillage e.g. due to agricultural and foerestry equipment. With a real-time detection system (e.g. radar) the current position can be defined on-site and displayed for the vehicle operator. In a further development stage alarms can be sent off if the blade is too close to a pipeline and a switch-off is possible.

CeSIS develops such systems in cooperation with the CSE Center of Safety Excellence (CSE institute) within the scope of research projects and in cooperation with the gas industry.

 

Target group:

Gas network operators, companys that carry out excavations

CeSIS - Thancs

Why ThAnCS?

According to the current rules and regulations, e.g. DVGW GW315, dangers when exposing supply lines due to organisational measures (manual excavation) are avoided. However, especially in case of major risks, technical measures with even greater reliability are necessary. So far, such systems have not yet been developed.

In practise, excavations lead to events very often. Long-distance gas pipelines are very rarely affected. In most cases, gas pipelines in the distribution network are involved. According to the Federal Information System for Piping Information (BIL), approximately 100.000 cable and piping damages are caused anually with repair costs of more than 2 billion euros, of which around 50 % are caused by civil engineering work (Jens Focke, GAT 2017, Köln, 30 November 2017).

THANCS is designed to prevent pipeline damage, especially in densely populated areas.

Log In

Create an account

ThAnCS

Third Party Anti-Collision System


Das Ziel

Entwicklung eines neuen sicherheitsgerichteten Bagger Anti-Kollisionssystems um Einwirkungen Dritter auf kritische Infrastruktur Gas zu vermeiden.

THANCS wird eine Kombination aus Navigations- und Detektionssystemen der neuesten Generation.

Das Vorgehen (Auszug)

  • Entwicklung eines innovativen Alarmsystems für Bagger
  • Technische Schutzmaßnahme (Real-time anti-collision system)
Das Vorgehen (Auszug):
  • Entwicklung eines innovativen Alarmsystems für Bagger
  • Technische Schutzmaßnahme (Real-time anti-collision system)

 
Pipelinesysteme können mit den heutigen präzisen Daten in ihrer Lage online lokalisiert werden. Die Erdüberdeckung ist jedoch meistens nicht exakt bekannt und ändert sich mit Wind, Wetter und der Bodenbearbeitung z.B. durch land- und forstwirtschaftliche Geräte. Mit einem real-time detection system (z.B. Radar) kann die aktuelle Lage vor Ort definiert und dem Fahrzeugführer angezeigt werden. In einem weiteren Entwicklungsschritt lassen sich Alarme absetzen, wenn sich die Schaufel einer Pipeline zu stark nähert und eines Abschaltung ist möglich.

CeSIS entwickelt solche Systeme in Kooperation mit dem CSE Center of Safety Excellence (CSEInstitut) im Rahmen von Forschungsarbeiten und in Kooperation mit der Gasindustrie.

 

Zielgruppe:

Gasnetzbetreiber, Unternehmen die Grabungen vornehmen

CeSIS - Thancs

Warum ThAnCS?

Nach den geltenden Regelwerken z.B. DVGW GW315 werden Gefahren beim Freilegen von Versorgungsleitungen durch organisatorische Maßnahmen (Handschachtung) vermieden. Insbesondere bei großen Risiken sind jedoch technische Maßnahmen mit einer noch höheren Zuverlässigkeit notwendig. Solche Systeme sind bislang noch nicht entwickelt.

In der Praxis kommt es bei Grabungen sehr häufig zu Ereignissen. Gasfernleitungen sind davon sehr selten betroffen. Meistens sind es Gasleitungen im Verteilnetz. Nach den Angaben der Bundesinformationssysstems für Leitungsauskünfte (BIL) werden jährlich etwa 100 000 Kabel- und Leitungsschäden mit Schadensbeseitungungskosten von mehr als 2 Mrd. Euro verursacht, davon rund 50% bei Tiefbauarbeiten (Jens Focke, GAT 2017, Köln, 30. November 2017).

Mit THANCS sollen Leitungsschäden insbesondere in dicht besiedelten Gebieten vermieden werden.

Log In

Create an account